Aurora ARG Governing Board



Executive Officers

President
Brandin Hess, VA2ILS / VA6ILS / WB1BR
Term Ends:  September 30th, 2023

Vice-President
Joel Perry, KN4EWI
Term Ends:  September 30th, 2023

Secretary
Irene Reed, KN4ZHL
Term Ends:  September 30th, 2023

Treasurer
Matt Reed, WT4FU
Term Ends:  September 30th, 2023

Board Directors

Director
Daniel Purgert, AD8GC
Term Ends:  September 30th, 2021

Director
Frank Girello, W3UF
Term Ends:  September 30th, 2021

Director
Joshua Candelaria, KL5BE
Term Ends:  September 30th, 2021

Director
David Hamilton, AFØH
Term Ends:  September 30th, 2021

Station Trustees

License Trustee - VO2AUR
Brandin Hess, VA2ILS / VA6ILS

License Trustee - WL9Z
Charles Andrews, W5AD

Aurora ARG Club Docs

Club By-Laws
Club Constitution

Aurora ARG Board Meetings


Board meetings are held on the third Saturday of each month at . . .
12:00pm Hawaii Time
1:00pm Aleutian Time
2:00pm Alaska Time
3:00pm Pacific Time
4:00pm Mountain Time
5:00pm Central Time
6:00pm Eastern Time
7:00pm Atlantic Time
7:30pm Newfoundland Time

Meeting Dates for 2021
February 20th
March 20th
April 17th
May 15th
June 19th
July 17th
August 21st
September 18th
October 16th
November 20th
December 18th

Aurora ARG History & Who We Are


The Aurora Amateur Radio Group is a gathering of new and seasoned amateur radio operators with the purpose of serving. We have come together to bring our experience, knowledge and wisdom into a long time hobby with the focus of expanding one's understanding of it, as well as providing a solid foundation for those who have an interest in getting their license. This was initially formed to be a group on Internet Relay Chat, but has since rapidly expanded to becoming an on-air gathering to share information and propose new ideas for the expansion of our group.

We remain focused in greeting newcomers to our great hobby by offering them a warm welcome into the ham radio family and are steadfast in providing help when they need it. Very few groups like this are in existence today and we are proud to be among the few to do something like this. We became a club on September 10th, 2016 and our club call, WL7CXY was issued to us on Monday, September 19th, 2016. Our founding members were: Brandin Hess - WB1BR (ex. WL1B) (President), Shane Ball - W7SAK (Vice President), Benjamyn Potvin - WL7PT (Treasurer) and Jesse Thompson - WL7JT (Director). We are a group of amateur radio operators who have offered our time, resources and knowledge toward a long time hobby, with the vision of carrying on the tradition for many years to come.

What we offer to the community


While most radio clubs offer little to their members, our focus in the amateur radio world shall cover a wide variety of subjects. Here is a consolidated list:

  • Educational resources for getting their first license or their license upgrade

  • Resources on building and troubleshooting circuits of all types

  • Resources on reading schematic diagrams

  • Informational resources on utilizing all of the digital modes of amateur radio

  • Instructional resources on the Winlink amateur radio e-mail system for Mac, Linux and Windows

  • Resources on antenna building and installation

  • Resources on safety in the shack and on the tower

  • Instruction and guidance for net etiquette

  • Emergency communications and traffic handling, if necessary

  • Resources on audio optimization with your radio and computer, for VOIP software such as AllStar, D-Star and Echolink

  • Information and instruction on programming your radio

  • License classes for amateur radio licensing

  • License examination testing



A closing note...


Before closing what has been mentioned on this page, I would like to give a personal thank you to Preston, KG5HEU in Arkansas who has inspired the idea of creating a group for this purpose. We know that amateur radio operators aim to inform by means of informal round table discussions, nets and via other means of traffic passing which makes us versatile when we are needed the most.